Mikerophone

Student+Camera+Internet

Archive for August 5th, 2009

Also

Posted by mikevilla on August 5, 2009

I forgot to add, I’m getting better at the uke. My massive library of three (3!) songs [all using the exact same chords of course] is sounding good. Too bad I can’t strum and sing at the same time. Look for a uke vid sometime soon. Probably after I get back from Yuma.

Ok.

Rollfest.

Fo reals this time.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

The Prelude to Epic

Posted by mikevilla on August 5, 2009

So I’m in Yuma. Don’t ask. Work. Weird. Crazy. Anyways can’t sleep. So here is my random, very jumbled thought for the night. One day I’ll learn how to write well, I promise.

Blogs confused me for a really long time. For that matter stories in general have always confused me. I didn’t understand how I could be so totally enthralled with one story/blog/book/movie/song, and completely bored by another that was very similar to the first. Tonight I realized it’s because there are two kinds of stories/books/movies/plots/blogs.

One kind of story simply communicates information. It exists to convey what is happening. I don’t have anything against that. If anything, I’m a total infogeek. I can point to any car on the road and tell you what size engine it has, how much horsepower and torque it makes, and if it will chill your wine (I’d like to be able to say I was kidding on the last one). I can list off the entire Canon lens and body line up and give you the approximate prices for them. New and Used. I can do the same thing for Nikon. I don’t even shoot Nikon.

The info communicated doesn’t have to be a spreadsheet list of chronological stupendipities or a chart of choreographed frivolities, it can be a genuinely interesting tale of what happened in a person’s day, or a conversation of “hello’s” and “how are you’s” between two people, but in the end it still is just a recap of what has happened. Not necessarily a bad thing, there just happens to be a different kind of story that holds my interest better.

The second kind of story is the kind that exists to communicate a purpose. It extends beyond one person or one event. It may not even use words to explain that there is something more to the story than just information, sometimes it’s just implied. It keeps you thinking. And most importantly, it impacts you. You might feel motivated, inspired, disgusted, intrigued, demotivated… anything. But by the time you’re done reading/watching/listening/soaking it in, you can feel the epicness just oozing out of you.

For whatever reason, this summer has had an incredibly epic feeling to it. I’ve probably used that word in this blog 2374124 times this summer. Maybe it’s because I’m mentally preparing myself for a once in a life time semester abroad with a few awesome friends, maybe it’s because I’m starting to realize I’m actually on the right career path, maybe it’s just because the word epic was way freaking overused at Biola. I’m not really sure why, but whatever the reason, this whole summer has had the linings of “epic” written all over it. It’s not a “currently happening” kind of greatness, it’s more of a build. Think of it as something like Angels & Airwaves’ “Call to Arms”. It’s been a prelude to something big, something really awesome that’s coming up. It might be London, or it might be something else, I’m not really sure. All I know is that I’m stoked beyond all belief.

Rollfest.

Posted in Random Rants, Uncategorized | Tagged: , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »